Our Network: Gaming Podcast | Casual Gamer Chick | Common Man Cocktails | Alcohols by Volume
Gaming Podcast Logo

Rock Band 2, Song Tracks and Instruments

July 10th, 2008 by Derrick Schommer · 3 Comments

No Gravatar

The latest news on the Rock Band 2 front covers the instruments and a few confirmed song tracks. There have been rumors flying around the Internet about the “leaked song tracks” for the next release with absolutely no confirmation. Now, however, we have solid proof on some tracks and some equipment changes.

First, all instruments are backwards compatible. That’s key to the success of Rock Band because fans of the original ponied up a lot of bones to grab themselves the original Rock Band kit. However, there is an incentive to upgrade your equipment in some regards.

If you like the original Rock Band guitar you’re going to love the new one if only for the color updates, wood grain and actual look and feel of a real guitar not a “toy.” As you’d expect (or hope) the new guitar will be wireless, finally, and will have a sturdy strum bar with even quieter buttons. Wireless alone is a great selling point but quiet buttons is important for folks like me who play the guitar like it was a jackhammer and can easily interrupt the drummers concentration during a difficult set.

The drum kit has been improved as well, with a re-enforced foot pedal to avoid the ease of breaking the plastic “toy” version of Rock Band original. As a person who’s busted up their drum petal and forked out cash on eBay for a wood solution, this is more great news. The drum kit will also be wireless which is great for those of you, like myself, who have kids that run through your line of site or dance while you’re playing. Nobody likes their Xbox 360 being flung off the shelve due to tripped cords.

The drum kit will have quieter pads and a velocity sensor; again, your old kit is still usable without these enhancements but the desire to upgrade if you’re a dedicated fan will be high.

The song tracks currently confirmed:

  • “Panic Attack” — Dream Theater
  • “Chop Suey” — System of a Down
  • “Everlong” — Foo Fighters
  • “Kids in America” — The Muffs
  • “Give it Away” — Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • “Ace of Spades” — Motörhead
  • “Hello There” — Cheap Trick
  • “Pump it Up” — Elvis Costello
  • “Anyway You Want It” — Journey
  • “Pinball Wizard” — The Who

This is a great indication to where Rock Band 2 is going, mixing up a great selection of artists with classic hits like Anyway You Want It and Pinball Wizard to newer late generation X music like Give it Away and Chop Suey. Talented artists like Dream Theater are sure to keep Rock Band 2 a challenge to all gamers.

Other great improvements being a World Tour mode now accessible online and the removal of the “Band Leader” concept which always locked you into an instrument once you created a band.

NOTE: Xbox 360 will have a timed exclusive on Rock Band 2, arriving later in the year for the Nintendo Wii and PlayStation 3.

Checkout the full feature set so far explained at Kotaku.

TD Gaming Podcast

↑ Grab this Headline Animator

Tags: Industry News · playstation 3 · rock band · Wii · Xbox 360

3 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Rock Band 2 Songs Expanded | Gaming Podcast // Jul 12, 2008 at 9:29 am

    […] we received a few tidbits of their song list, now this! Soon we’ll have the entire confirmed list of songs (barring the rumors which have […]

  • 2 SamNo Gravatar // Sep 6, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Hey, do you think that the original rockband instruments are still usable in rockband 2? Because I really don’t want to buy new instruments kits for 150 bucks.

  • 3 Derrick SchommerNo Gravatar // Sep 6, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Yes sir, they’ll work fine. Only upgrade if you desire it or, like me, you break them 🙂

Leave a Comment